Putting My Classical Education to Good Use

I was an annoying child. I’ve gotten better over the years, but I’m still an annoying adult.

See, I’m a pedant. If a picture is hung crooked, a historical detail off in a novel or a word usage every so slightly wrong, it will bug me so much that I have to say something.

So this morning, upon reading that Precursor to H.I.V. Was in Monkeys for Milleniums, I really had no choice to rouse Chung, my poor husband, to explain that the New York Times, the NEW YORK TIMES, people, had used some bastardized Anglicized plural for “millennium” instead of the lovely and ever correct neuter plural “millennia.” And in a headline, no less! You understand that a matter of this importance could not possibly wait until the man was awake.

He gave me a dirty look at went back to sleep. Sometimes, I’m not really sure why he puts up with me.

About Meg

A recent college grad and newlywed trying to figure out this whole maturity thing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

